top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturesuchefpwd

Altenew May 2022 Lovely in Lace Collection Release Blog Hop + Giveaway ($300 in total prizes)

Updated: May 24, 2022



I am totally enamored with the 3D embossing folders that Altenew has produced! The dimension and depth you get make such a striking image, and they have (no surprise) engineered them perfectly to get the maximum 3D effect without the paper cracking or warping. I enjoyed experimenting a bit with these and here are my results -


This project uses the Cherry Plum Blossom embossing folder. I haven't played with my Perfect Pearl powders in a long time so I decided to get them out and see what they would look like. I started with navy blue card stock and embossed the image and then used pink, green and yellow to color in the images. Using the accompanying stencils makes this so easy and fun! Simply use VersaMark or any watermark ink and apply it through the stencil, brush on the Perfect Pearls powder and you have a beautiful but subtle image. The central parts of these flowers don't have a separate stencil, but it's easy enough to just add some sticky ink (and if you have a VersaMark pen, that works quite well) to add the yellow color to the centers. I then used yellow liquid Perfect Pearls to highlight the ends of the anther of the stamens. I cut the Fancy Hugs die from the same navy card stock and applied VersaMark all over it and used the pink Perfect Pearl powder. I backed it with a second die cut and offset it slightly to make the word stand out a bit. I rounded the edges of the panel and mounted it on a coral colored card base.


I love this more "subdued" look - it makes it very elegant, I think!


The Vintage Lace embossing folder is quite unique in that it has the floral image in the center, and a lacy background as well. What an amazing look! For this card, I embossed a dark teal colored card stock and then stuck with the Perfect Pearls and colored in the flower with blue and turquoise, and of course green for the leaves. I then shaded the background with some of the turquoise as well as a splash of gold Perfect Pearls here and there. To make the sentiment, I used the "thanks" from the Enchanted Iris stamp and die set and cut it from the same teal card stock as well as a couple of layers of white heavy card stock. I then added some gold Perfect Pearls to provide some color and contrast. A few dots of Nuvo Dream Drops in Luxe Gold are added around the sentiment. I rounded the edges of the panel to soften the look and mounted it onto a gold metallic card base.



This project - totally different from what I usually make - utilizes the Mariposa embossing folder. I again decided to break out some products I haven't used in a long time - in this case - Gelatos. I embossed the image onto some navy blue card stock and then used the new Foundry Waxes by Tim Holtz/Ranger to color the raised areas. I colored in the cells in the butterfly wings using a couple of shades of warm colors on the top of the wings, and cool colors on the bottom. After coloring it in, I decided to fussy cut the image. I used a patterned paper and ran it through the embossing folder as well (because I "lost" the antennae in the fussy cutting process), so this allowed the butterfly to have its antennae and I colored those with a silver gel pen. I stamped the sentiment (which is from the Birds of a Feather stamp set) with turquoise ink and heat embossed it using clear embossing powder. The entire panel was then mounted onto a piece of rose gold metallic card stock and placed into a 6x6 square frame.



My final project for the embossing folder series is uses the Starburst folder, which is a really fun background with so many possibilities. I embossed a panel of yellow card stock, and then used a brayer to apply orange and red colors in a bit of a random way to give it a little more interest. I cut that panel down to 3 3/4 by 5, and added a central banner using orange vellum that I stamped with black ink and then applied clear embossing powder. The "Shine Bright" sentiment is from the Shine Like A Diamond stamp set (a great background stamp!!). That panel is mounted onto an orange glitter card stock cut to 4 by 5 1/4, and finally attached to a white card base that is 4 1/4 by 5 1/2. Some yellow and orange jewels complete the sparkle. When I used this card, I added a little "graduation mortar board" and it became a graduation card!


Here are some useful links regarding these products:



Giveaway Prizes

$300 in total prizes! To celebrate this release, Altenew is giving away a $50 gift certificate to 2 lucky winners and a $25 gift certificate to 8 winners! Please leave a comment on the Altenew Card Blog and/or each designer’s blog post on the blog hop list below by 05/29/2022 for a chance to win. Altenew will draw 10 random winners from the comments left on each stop of this blog hop and announce the winners on the Altenew Winners Page on 05/31/2022.


Here's the list of participants in this blog hop:

Enjoy this new release! I surely did!!

198 views12 comments
bottom of page