top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturesuchefpwd

Susan - In the Mood for Color

Updated: Jul 12, 2021

I like the idea of cards with a particular color theme. The cards created in the course for this topic were all wonderful, but one color that wasn't included was purple. So I've used that as my color scheme for this assignment.


One of my favorite Altenew stamp sets is the Enchanted Iris set. I love irises and their vibrant purple/indigo color is so stunning. The detail in the stamp makes them really gorgeous. So I've used that here to create this purple themed "thanks" card.


I started by stamping the taller iris image on Neenah solar white classic crest card stock with a light color of ink. I made sure to leave the stamp in place and also ensure that the cardstock was firmly planted in the corner of my MISTI because I was going to need to re-stamp in order to apply embossing powder after I did my alcohol marker coloring. (I understand that embossing powder can damage the tips of Copic or other markers, and given the cost of these, I don't want to risk it!)

I used Copic markers to color in the iris and its stem, and then re-stamped the image with VersaMark ink and applied a detail gold embossing powder and heat set that. I then used a Post It note to mask off the stem of the iris to add the leaves and give the impression they are coming from slightly behind the stem. With each leaf addition and coloring, I heat embossed that part of the image.


I cut down the cardstock with the floral image and then put fun foam behind it to provide some dimension. That was then added to a patterned paper in purple and gray hues and mounted onto a light bluish-purple piece of cardstock that had been run through the Enchanted Vines embossing folder which I think nicely compliments the floral image.


To give the impression of dimension and depth, I used a very light gray and very light blue alcohol marker to make a shadow to the left side of the floral image. The "thanks" sentiment is a part of the Enchanted Iris die set that was cut from a holographic deep purple cardstock as well as gold cardstock, with the gold image serving as the "shadow." (And yes, I did use VERY NARROW foam tape behind that little section of the "t" that hangs off the side!) Nuvo dream drops were applied to both the area around the "thanks" sentiment as well a to the right hand panel where the embossing folder has vines with berries that hang down.




This photo provides a more detailed, close up look at the embellishments:

There it is - "The Color Purple" (a great book as well, I might add), to round out the rainbow colors offered during the "In the Mood" course. Hope you like it!



12 views2 comments
bottom of page