top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturesuchefpwd

Susan - Magical Marker Techniques

Alcohol inks, whether in pens or bottles are SO fun. The techniques shown in this class offered lots of interesting ways to use them. I am focusing on the use of the markers (for me, these are Copic markers) on vellum.


I started by stamping the Magnolia stamp outline image onto plain vellum and heat embossed it with white pearl embossing powder. I then colored on the back side of the vellum with Copic markers (I have been told that using alcohol markers next to embossed material can ruin the tip, so unlike what was shown in the video, I do not color on the heat embossed side) and colored pencils. I'm not sure the pencils added much in this particular instance, but I used it for the darker pink/fushia color and for shading. It required a lot of going "back and forth" with various shades of pink and I also needed to use the clear (0) Copic to subdue the fuchsia shade and get it blended back into the lighter pink hues.

I cut out the magnolia image using the coordinating die and then ran it through my Xyron sticker maker to get even adhesive coverage on the vellum (which makes the adhesive not show through). I adhered the magnolia onto a piece of specialty paper with a pearlized scallop pattern giving it a bit more interest. The frame (from My Favorite Things) builds up 2 layers of cardstock with the top being tan pearlized paper. This is then mounted onto blue pearlized paper that has been put through an embossing folder with a floral pattern. To help draw the eye to the center of the card, I blended some Tumbled Glass Distress Oxide around the outside of the blue panel. The card base is a 5x6 inch card. The bottom front has been die cut using the Lacy Border Die and underneath (on the inside of the card) a strip of pink marble washi tape that nicely compliments the shades of pink in the magnolia, as well as a bottom strip of dark pink glitter washi help the lacy pattern stand out. This is what the inside of the card looks like:

I adorned the lacy border with some pink pearls as shown below:

I chose not to add a sentiment on this card so as not to "disturb" the balance of the piece. I hope it "speaks for itself" saying that much care was taken to attend to the details to send a beautiful (non-verbal) message!


16 views1 comment
bottom of page