top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturesuchefpwd

Susan's Level 3 projects - 3D layered dies

The videos for this class were creative and inspiring! They provided lots of new ways to think about using layering. My absolute favorite layering die cuts, though, are the craft-a-flower series (which I faithfully subscribe to and can't wait for them to arrive each month!). So I have used one of these sets for this class project.

I used the lily craft-a-flower set, and cut the layers from watercolor cardstock that I had previously colored with my trusty crystal watercolors (Brusho, Nuvo Shimmer Powder) in shades of pink, orange and red. I can select various sections of the water colored paper depending on how light or dark I want the layer to be. Similarly, I used the same process to cute the leaf and stem pieces. I mounted the flowers on a piece of navy blue card stock that I had embossed with clear embossing powder, in this case using a stencil by Martha Stewart on the top of the card base. I then embossed the sentiment (from the Build-a-flower: Sakura Blossom stamp set) in white embossing powder in the lower right of the panel. Embellishments include iridescent gem stones that surround the sentiment, and Nuvo Crystal Drops in "Dew Drop" to make the flowers look as though they have the morning dew on them. The panel is attached to a 4 /14 by 5 1/2 inch card base. I typically make a coordinating envelope to go with all the cards that I make, and it is shown above.


To demonstrate the sentiment and gems area, here is a close up of that section:


And to show the "dew drops" I have included a closer view of the flower as well as the top border with the embossed pattern from a stencil (which looks a bit gold in this picture although that isn't the prominent color in "real life):


Because I love these flowers and this layout so much, I also made this card in a similar style, but with more stenciled "background" in a sparkly gold texture paste:


I can't wait to get the orchid set that is coming in the mail soon! Layering die cuts adds such dimension and interest to cards and Altenew's are second to none!


23 views2 comments
bottom of page