top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturesuchefpwd

Susan's Level 3 projects - Stencils

Once again, there was lots of inspiration in the videos for the Stunningly Styled Stencils, and I look forward to applying many of the techniques to future cards. For this class I went "retro" and made a "psychedelic" card featuring the Altenew Sunburst Stencil - a definite favorite and one I have used over and over.


I started by using a 4 1/4 by 5 1/2 inch panel of Neenah Classic Crest Solar White cardstock and ink blended neon colors over the entire panel. As is true with any ink blending, it provides a gradation and "new" color to emerge when one color is applied over another. I then used the Sunburst stencil and heavily applied VersaMark Tuxedo Black ink over the top of the neon colors. This does give a dramatic and "stunning" effect, I think.


As in the last post, I also decorate envelopes to coordinate, so I once again used the Sunburst stencil for this with the same neon ink.


I chose a piece of neon pink cardstock to highlight my sentiment. The pink circle is mounted on top of 2 additional white circles of the same size to give some dimension. Unfortunately, I don't have an Altenew "happy" word die cut (yet!) so I borrowed this from our friends at Hero Arts, along with the "you make me so" stamp which is stamped in Tuxedo Black ink. The "happy" word is cut from neon blue card stock, and again 2 more layers are beneath it. I then used my clear Wink of Stella pen to make it a little sparkly, and then used Glossy Accents on the word "happy" to give it a nice shiny appearance. I added some Nuvo Dream Drops in the "Cloud 9" color (which has the amazing ability to pick up the color beneath it as it dries) in various places where the lines of the stenciled area cross one another.


The panel was then cut down to 4 by 5 1/4 inches and mounted on a bright pink card base.


Here is a close up of the sentiment area:


And this close up shows the embellishment with the Nuvo Dream Drops. This allows you to see how the drops "pick up" the background color that they have been applied to:


Stencils are great investments because the price point is generally quite good and they are SO versatile and fun to work with. I look forward to using all the techniques and ideas presented in the Stunningly Styled Stencil classes going forward.

11 views1 comment
bottom of page